Home / Directory / Indiana / Franklin County Jail / Sheriff — Brookville, Indiana
Franklin County Jail / Sheriff — Brookville, Indiana
Verify live custody and the controlling visit rule before paying or traveling. This guide labels conflicts and unknowns instead of inventing procedures.
JAIL411 / FAMILY FIELD GUIDE
The details you need.
In one place.
Sources reviewed
Operational guide for the adult Sheriff jail / Franklin County Security Center at 371 Main Street. Excludes court, supervision, youth, state, municipal, federal, immigration, historical, transitional and other-county identities except expressly bounded contacts.
- Confirm custody
Use the Sheriff roster, then call when status is unclear.
- Confirm the rule
Ask the jail which published visit policy controls today.
- Separate accounts
Cidnet communication and JailATM commissary are different systems.
- Preserve the record
Keep names, dates, confirmations, receipts and error messages.
Start here
Verify identity, custody and the right contact before acting.
Use the adult Sheriff jail at 371 Main Street
Franklin County Security Center / Franklin County Jail is the adult county jail operated by the Franklin County Sheriff at 371 Main Street, Brookville, IN 47012. The published main number is 765-647-4138; the Sheriff says the department operates 24 hours, while the front office is Monday through Friday, 7 a.m.–4 p.m.
Do not substitute the courthouse, probation or Community Corrections, Brookville or Batesville police, town marshals, juvenile systems, IDOC prisons, federal or immigration custody, or another Franklin County in another state.
Sources: sheriffHome · contact · sheriffCounty
Confirm custody before paying, mailing or traveling
Start with the Sheriff inmate-roster page and its linked roster. Search the full legal name and spelling variants; retain the booking number, name number, listed court and charge information. A PDF or roster entry can age quickly. If the person is absent, call 765-647-4138 and ask whether booking is still processing, the person was released, transferred, uses an alias, or is held by another agency.
Use Indiana SAVIN for alerts and MyCase for court records, but neither replaces direct housing confirmation. Use IDOC, BOP or ICE locators only after staff identifies that custody system.
Sources: roster · rosterPortal · savin · contact · mycase · idocLocator · bop · ice
Call the office that owns the decision
| Custody, booking, visiting, mail, property, release | 765-647-4138 |
|---|---|
| Circuit Court | 765-647-4186 |
| Clerk | 765-647-5111 |
| Public Defender listing | 765-647-0494 |
| Probation / Community Corrections | 765-647-5741 |
Do not email an emergency to E911; that mailbox is not continuously monitored. For immediate danger call 911.
Sources: contact · court · clerk · phoneDirectory · probation · e911
Visits and communication
Use the published visit rules while preserving unresolved conflicts.
Treat the Saturday schedule as provisional until staff resolves conflicts
The current visitation page publishes Saturday visiting from 8–11 a.m. and 1–4 p.m., with sign-in by 10:30 a.m. or 3:30 p.m.. It says one visit per incarcerated person per Saturday and no more than two adults, except a child under five seated on an adult’s lap.
A separate undated COVID update still says one visitor, no children under 18, quarantine visits on Sunday and cancellation of children’s visits. A separate children’s policy also remains live. Call the jail before every trip and ask which policy controls that date and housing unit. A posted schedule is not a guarantee; the Sheriff says visits may be canceled without notice.
Sources: visits · covidVisits · childVisits · contact
Bring current photo ID and clear the visitor-list rules
Every visitor over 18 must bring a valid, current state ID or driver’s license; the jail says a copy is made on the first visit. Complete the visitation book with the date, your name, address and the person visited. The visitor must be on the incarcerated person’s list, may not have been incarcerated at this facility during the prior 12 months, may not have an active protection order, and must not appear intoxicated or behave improperly.
Leave unapproved property in the car. Photos and recordings are prohibited. The current page does not publish a dress code, alternative-ID process, infant-item exception, disability accommodation, long-distance or special-visit process, or visit duration. Confirm each before arrival.
Do not assume remote video is active merely because Cidnet is linked
The commissary page links Cidnet for communication, and Cidnet offers voice, video and mail functions at participating facilities. The local jail page does not state which Cidnet functions Franklin County currently enables, remote-video hours, price, approval time, cancellation deadline or failed-session credit.
Create an account only through the current provider portal, select the exact Franklin County facility shown, verify the person, and review the live service menu before buying data. For account or connection trouble, preserve the error, confirmation and transaction history, use Cidnet support, and call the jail if the facility or person cannot be found.
Sources: commissary · cidnet · cidnetFaq · cidnetSupport
Keep Cidnet communication funds separate from JailATM money
Franklin County’s official commissary page directs families to Cidnet to communicate. Cidnet says participating facilities may use one data balance for voice, video and messages and that communications are monitored and recorded. Franklin County does not publish a local call rate, enabled account type, number-approval rule, call schedule, refund rule or transfer-balance handling.
Before funding, confirm that the live Cidnet portal displays this facility and the intended person. For blocked or missing calls, check account blocks and phone spam settings, then use provider support and the jail number. Do not use forwarding or three-way calling unless the jail expressly authorizes it.
Sources: commissary · cidnet · cidnetFaq · cidnetSupport · contact
Verify enabled Cidnet features before sending a message or photo
Cidnet offers messages and other data-based functions, but facility participation controls availability. The county link is malformed and does not itself establish that messaging, photos, tablets or every housing unit is enabled. Use the current provider portal, select the exact facility and verify the live menu. Franklin County does not publish local message prices, attachment limits, review time, delivery timing, rejection handling or housing-unit exclusions.
Sources: commissary · cidnet · cidnetFaq
Mail, books and money
Follow the local mail format and keep provider accounts separate.
Follow the unusually strict personal-mail format
Address personal mail to: Full name of incarcerated person, Franklin County Security Center, 371 Main Street, Brookville, IN 47012. Use a plain white envelope with a handwritten full sender name and return address—no return label. The letter or drawing must be on originally purchased plain white lined paper, in black or blue ballpoint pen or pencil. The jail rejects colored paper/envelopes, copy paper, photocopies, clippings, fragrance or foreign substances, greeting cards, photographs and photo copies.
Noncompliant mail is returned when the sender is known or placed in the person’s property bin. Keep a copy and mailing record.
Sources: mail
Confirm the privileged legal-mail route before sending
The published mail policy does not distinguish attorney or court mail from personal correspondence and does not state the legal-mail address, attorney-identification requirement, presence-at-opening rule, e-delivery option, rejection notice or appeal. Counsel and families should call the jail for current privileged-mail instructions. Do not assume the strict personal-mail limits apply to a court filing, and do not send legal papers through Cidnet as a substitute for privileged delivery.
Do not order books or packages without direct approval
The local mail page says no packages or mail orders, no puzzle books and no photographs. It does not clarify publisher-direct books, subscriptions, legal reference material, religious texts, approved care packs or the appeal path for a rejected item. Call the jail before purchase. JailATM lists only the services enabled for a selected facility; a generic provider feature is not proof that Franklin County accepts an outside pack.
Use JailATM or the front-lobby kiosk only after confirming the person
The Sheriff says commissary is supplied through Stellar/JailATM. Online deposits require an account; the front-lobby kiosk accepts cash and card and requires the incarcerated person’s name. The visitation page says staff will not accept money directly. Before paying, confirm the person and facility, whether the transaction is a trust deposit or commissary order, fees and limits shown at checkout, and keep the receipt.
For a duplicate or missing deposit, call the facility promptly; JailATM says some refunds depend on funds not having been spent and provider review. The jail does not publish local deposit caps, kiosk hours, deductions, release-balance method or item schedule.
Sources: commissary · visits · jailatm · jailatmDeposit · contact
Health, rights and safety
Use the jail for custody concerns and record every escalation.
Route urgent health facts to jail staff
The Sheriff names Quality Correctional Medical Company as the onsite treatment provider and says inability to pay does not block treatment, although charges may create a negative account balance. The page does not publish a family medical line or current contract date.
For an urgent concern, call 765-647-4138, give the person’s full name and date of birth, symptoms, medication and dose, last known use, and your callback number; ask that the message be documented and routed to medical staff. Call 911 for an immediate community emergency.
Use the jail for custody welfare and 988 for caller support
No local jail page publishes mental-health intake, suicide-watch notification, an on-call clinician, treatment partner or a family clinical contact. Call the jail for an incarcerated person’s urgent welfare concern and ask for a supervisor or medical staff. The 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline and Indiana 211 can support the caller and identify community resources but cannot order jail treatment.
Sources: medical · stateHealth · in211 · contact
Ask before delivering medicine, glasses or records
The local medical page does not publish rules for outside prescriptions, pharmacy verification, medication drop-off, eyeglasses, hearing aids, mobility devices, medical-record authorizations or fees. Ask jail staff exactly what medical personnel require and whether any item may be delivered. The Franklin County Health Department at 1010 Franklin Avenue is a separate public-health office and does not replace jail medical care.
Request the resident grievance form and appeal chain
No public Franklin County jail page identifies the grievance form, filing deadline, emergency route, response time, appeal levels, confidentiality or external reviewer. The incarcerated person should ask staff for the current process and retain dates and response copies. A family member can ask the jail who receives an overdue, urgent or retaliation-related complaint but should not claim to file for the person unless local policy allows it.
Sources: sheriffHome · contact · staff
Request jail accommodations before the visit
The county ADA appendix identifies the Sheriff’s Department and Jail at 371 Main Street, but current jail pages do not name an ADA coordinator, interpreter request, relay number, accessible visiting route or appeal. Call the jail and describe the functional need without unnecessary diagnosis. For transit, all FCPT vans are described as ADA accessible; request a reasonable modification when reserving, use Relay Indiana at 711 or 800-743-3333, and contact the transit director for an ADA complaint.
Sources: adaPlan · contact · transitHome · transitContact · transitPolicies
Ask for Franklin County’s confidential PREA reporting route
The reviewed Sheriff pages do not publish a PREA coordinator, anonymous or third-party report route, outside victim advocate, retaliation-monitoring contact or audit. For immediate danger call the jail and ask for a supervisor. Ask how a resident or third party can make a confidential sexual-safety report. Do not use an IDOC prison hotline unless jail staff confirms it applies to this county facility.
Sources: sheriffHome · contact · idocFacilities
Court, counsel and release
Separate the court order, jail processing and supervision systems.
Use MyCase to prepare, then confirm with the court or clerk
Franklin Circuit Court is at 459 Main Street, second floor, Brookville, open Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m.–noon and 1–4 p.m., 765-647-4186. The Clerk is on the first floor at the same address, 765-647-5111. Use MyCase to locate the cause number, filed charges, next date, release order and counsel entry, then verify official terms with the court or clerk. A court record does not prove current physical custody.
Sources: court · clerk · courtLocal · mycase
Ask the court who was appointed; the prosecutor is not defense counsel
The county phone directory lists the Public Defender at 765-647-0494. Indiana Courts instructs people seeking a public defender to contact the county office or request appointment through the court. Confirm the appointed attorney and contact route from the case file. The Prosecutor at 459 Main Street represents the State and victim-assistance functions, not the accused.
Sources: phoneDirectory · defenderFaq · court · prosecutor · mycase
Confirm the filed release order and every hold before payment
The Sheriff bond page says some Level 3 and 4 felony bonds may be cash/surety through a bondsman and other bondable offenses use cash-only bonds at the Security Center; it also states some drug arrests have an eight-hour hold and OWI release waits for a .00 alcohol reading. The page does not show a current effective-dated schedule in inspectable text. Do not calculate or promise release from this summary.
Confirm the judge’s filed order, accepted payment, payer ID, receipt, after-hours process and any probation, other-county, IDOC, federal or immigration hold with the court, clerk and jail.
Get written authorization and pickup instructions first
No current local page publishes a property-release form, approved recipient rules, pickup hours, clothing exchange, storage limit, transfer procedure or unclaimed-property process. Ask whether the incarcerated person must sign an authorization and which entrance the recipient should use. Bring current ID only after staff confirms the date, time and item.
Plan pickup only after staff confirms actual discharge
A court order or paid bond does not guarantee immediate departure. Ask the jail whether booking tasks, the stated alcohol/drug hold, another warrant, probation action, state or federal authority, transport or time-credit review remains. Confirm the actual release door, estimated window, ride-call opportunity, clothing, medication, property and account-balance handoff. SAVIN is useful for alerts, but direct confirmation controls the trip.
Keep jail release, probation and Community Corrections separate
Franklin County Probation is at 483 Main Street, 765-647-5741. IDOC lists Franklin County Community Corrections under the same contact number and names an executive director; this is a supervision/program relationship, not ordinary jail housing. Confirm the release order and reporting instructions before appearing.
For food, housing, utilities, treatment, transportation or employment navigation, dial 211 or 866-211-9966. The county Health Department is at 1010 Franklin Avenue, 765-647-4322.
Sources: probation · ccContacts · in211 · health
Use Sheriff, court and provider records for different questions
| Booking, custody, release, incident, local jail policy | Franklin County Sheriff |
|---|---|
| Filed charges, orders, dates and counsel | Circuit Court / Clerk; MyCase is preliminary |
| Cidnet transaction or connection history | Cidnet account and support |
| JailATM deposit or order | JailATM history/support plus jail account staff |
The Sheriff records page publishes fees for general law-enforcement records, not an inmate medical-record or booking-record form. Ask each owner for its current request method, identification and fees.
Sources: records · court · clerk · mycase · cidnetSupport · jailatm
Travel and local support
Confirm the entrance, reserve demand-response transit and plan support.
Navigate to 371 Main Street and verify the visitor entrance
Use 371 Main Street, Brookville, IN 47012. The official visit page identifies the visitation room and front lobby but does not name the public entrance, parking lot, drop-off, accessible route, after-hours door or overflow parking. The county ADA appendix is dated 2019 and should not be treated as a current entrance map. Call before travel, arrive before the sign-in cutoff, follow posted signs and preserve marked accessible spaces.
Reserve Franklin County Public Transportation; there is no fixed jail stop
Franklin County Public Transportation is demand response, not a fixed-route jail bus. Published service is Monday through Friday, 6 a.m.–5 p.m.; reservations are taken 6 a.m.–4 p.m. at 765-647-3509 or 800-247-3509. In-county rides should be requested at least 24 hours ahead. Operator pages conflict on whether out-of-county/medical trips need 48+ hours or five days; ask dispatch. All vans are described as ADA accessible.
Request 371 Main Street, passenger count, mobility needs, pickup window and a return plan. No fixed jail stop, final pedestrian route, live arrival or guaranteed same-day ride is published.
Sources: transitHome · transitContact · transitService · transitRules · transitPolicies · indotTransit
Seven service-planning dates—not confirmed rides
| Wed Sep 30 | Published weekday window; reserve with dispatch. |
|---|---|
| Thu Oct 1 | Published weekday window; reserve with dispatch. |
| Fri Oct 2 | Published weekday window; reserve with dispatch. |
| Sat Oct 3 | No regular service published. |
| Sun Oct 4 | No regular service published. |
| Mon Oct 5 | Published weekday window; reserve with dispatch. |
| Tue Oct 6 | Published weekday window; reserve with dispatch. |
These dates are planning labels derived from the current weekly window. Weather/school closures can cancel service. None is a booking, fixed stop, live arrival or availability promise.
Sources: transitContact · transitRules
Use verified local contacts and confirm live availability
Indiana 211 connects callers to food, housing, utilities, health care and transportation: dial 211 or 866-211-9966, or text a ZIP code to 898-211. The Town of Brookville resource page lists the Brookville Township Trustee for aid and Franklin County Public Transportation. Gleaners’ 2026 county sheet lists Growing Laurel Food Pantry and LifeStream Services in Brookville; call or use 211 for current schedule and eligibility.
The Franklin County Welcome Center maintains a lodging directory, including the official Cobblestone Inn site. Confirm same-day room, rate, accessibility and check-in directly; inclusion is logistical, not endorsement.
Sources: in211 · townResources · gleaners · lodging · cobblestone
Original directory record & nearby facilities Open preserved information
This section preserves the earlier Jail411 directory information, including historical figures and contacts. Use the dated, sourced family guide above for the instructions covered there. Other local facilities have their own rules.
Facility record / Indiana
Franklin County Jail / Sheriff is a county or city jail in Brookville, Franklin County, Indiana.
Jail411 does not hold custody records. A listing here does not mean anyone is held at this address. Confirm the person’s location with the responsible agency before you travel, send money, or pay for a service.
Where this record came from. The contact, status and security fields, with capacity and population, come from the HIFLD and Federal Bureau of Prisons directory release refreshed February 2026. They describe the record, not today’s population. Check the facility’s current official website.
Contact this facility
- Phone
- (765) 647-4138
- Address
- 371 Main Street
Brookville, IN 47012Open in maps - Official page
- Official page at franklincounty.in.gov
- County
- Franklin County
Facility details
Listed as open in the February 2026 directory release.
Finding someone held here
Use the county system for a recent arrest. A state corrections search covers people in state custody. It generally will not list someone booked into a county jail this week. Bookings, bail, release, and visiting are all handled by Franklin County Sheriff’s Office.
Official site for this facility →
Call this facility directly: (765) 647-4138
Before you travel, pay, or mail anything
Get two things first: which facility the person is actually in, and their booking or ID number. Almost nothing works without them. Then check this facility’s current instructions — rules and service providers change.
Clear information.
Clear boundaries.
Jail411 is an independent information resource for families and friends. We are not a government agency, jail operator, law firm or live custody-records service.
Can Jail411 tell me if someone is in custody right now?
No. Jail411 does not hold live custody records. Use the official locator for the county, state, federal or ICE system that has the person; start here if you do not know which.
Does posting bond mean the person comes home?
Not always. A probation or parole hold, another county's warrant or an immigration detainer can keep someone in custody after bond is posted. Ask the jail what holds are on the booking before you pay.
What should I confirm before visiting?
The person's current facility, the visiting schedule, approval requirements, accepted identification and arrival instructions. Check the facility page and its official sources before you travel.
What if I find something that needs correcting?
Send us the page and the detail that needs attention. Include the official source when you have one. Do not send private booking documents or other sensitive personal information.
Plan the next step.
Practical guides for calls, visits, mail, money and release.